PMF IAS Test Series for UPSC Prelims Banner Ad
PMF IAS Test Series for UPSC Prelims Banner Ad

International Booker Prize 2024

  • Context (TH): Kairos by Jenny Erpenbeck, translated by Michael Hofmann, won the International Booker Prize 2024.
  • The International Booker Prize is awarded annually for a single fiction book translated into English and published in the UK or Ireland.
  • Award: The £50,000 prize money is divided equally between the author and the translator.
  • It was originally a biennial prize, began in 2005 as the Man Booker International Prize.
  • After 2015, it expanded to allow living writers of any nationality to enter and was made annual.
  • In 2019, the Man Booker International Prize was renamed the International Booker Prize.
  • Novels and collections of short stories are both eligible.
  • 1st Indian citizen winner: Author Geetanjali Shree for her Hindi novel Tomb of Sand (2022).

How is the Booker Prize different?

  • The Booker Prize was first awarded in 1969. The inaugural Booker Prize was awarded to P.H. Newby for his novel “Something to Answer For”.
  • Founders: Tom Maschler and Graham C Greene.
  • It is awarded for fiction written in English (not the translated one) and published in the UK and Ireland.
  • Until 2014, only novels written by Commonwealth, Irish, and South African citizens were eligible to receive the prize. Later, it was expanded to all nationalities.
  • The winner of the Booker Prize 2023 is Prophet Song by Paul Lynch.
  • Important winners: 1st Indian origin winnerVS Naipaul, 1st Indian citizen winnerArundhati Roy.
Sharing is Caring !!

Newsletter Updates

Subscribe to our newsletter and never miss an important update!

Assured Discounts on our New Products!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Never miss an important update!