PMF IAS Test Series for UPSC Prelims Banner Ad
PMF IAS Test Series for UPSC Prelims Banner Ad

Wild Life (Protection) Act of 1972 and Amendment, 1982

  • In 1972, Parliament enacted the Wild Life Act (Protection) Act.
  • The Wild Life Act provides for
    • state wildlife advisory boards,
    • regulations for hunting wild animals and birds,
    • establishment of sanctuaries and national parks,
    • regulations for trade in wild animals, animal products and trophies, and
    • judicially imposed penalties for violating the Act.
  • Harming endangered species listed in Schedule I of the Act is prohibited throughout India.
  • Hunting species, like those requiring special protection (Schedule II), big game (Schedule III), and small game (Schedule IV), is regulated through licensing.
  • A few species classified as vermin (Schedule V), may be hunted without restrictions.
  • Wildlife wardens and their staff administer the act.
  • An amendment to the Act in 1982, introduced a provision permitting the capture and transportation of wild animals for the scientific management of the animal population.
Q. In India, if a species of tortoise is declared protected under Schedule I of the Wildlife (Protection) Act, 1972, what does it imply? (2017)
  1. It enjoys the same level of protection as the tiger.
  2. It no longer exists in the wild, a few individuals are under captive protection; and now it is impossible to prevent its extinction.
  3. It is endemic to a particular region of India.
  4. Both (b) and (c) stated above are correct in this context.
  • Bengal Tiger’s IUCN status is ‘Endangered’. Gir Lions are also ‘Endangered’. Hence they fall under Schedule I of Wildlife (Protection) Act, 1972.

Answer: a) It enjoys the same level of protection as the tiger (Bengal Tiger’s IUCN status is ‘Endangered’).

Q. According to the Wildlife (Protection) Act, 1972, which of the following animals cannot be hunted by any person except under some provisions provided by law? (2017)
  1. Gharial
  2. Indian wild ass
  3. Wild buffalo

Select the correct answer using the code given below:

  1. 1 only
  2. 2 and 3 only
  3. 1 and 3 only
  4. 1, 2 and 3
  • From the question, it is clear that the animal should fall under Schedule II or later.
  • Gharial is ‘Critically Endangered’ and Water buffalo is ‘Endangered’. Hence, they fall under Schedule I. (Almost every animal listed in Chapter 6 IUCN Red List are in Schedule I).
  • Indian wild ass is moved from Endangered (2015) to Near Threatened (2016). It is listed under Schedule I.

Answer: d) all

Sharing is Caring !!

Newsletter Updates

Subscribe to our newsletter and never miss an important update!

Assured Discounts on our New Products!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Never miss an important update!