PMF IAS Test Series for UPSC Prelims Banner Ad
PMF IAS Test Series for UPSC Prelims Banner Ad

National Board for Wildlife, Wildlife Advisory Board

National Board for Wild Life is a statutory body constituted under the Wildlife Protection Act, 1972.

History of National Board for Wildlife

  • Due to the rapid decline in wildlife population, the GOI had constituted an advisory body designated as the Indian Board for Wildlife (IBWL) in 1952.
  • The Indian Board for Wildlife was chaired by the Prime Minister.
  • The Wildlife (Protection) Act 1972 was enacted for providing special legal protection to wildlife.
  • The Wildlife (Protection) Act 1972 laid special emphasis on endangered species of fauna.
  • As per the Wildlife (Protection) Amendment Act, 2002, a provision was incorporated for the constitution of the National Board for Wildlife, replacing the Indian Board for Wildlife.

Members of National Board for Wildlife

  • The National Board for Wildlife has 47 members with the Prime Minister in the Chair.
  • The Minister in charge of the MoEF in GOI is the Vice-Chairperson.
  • The Additional Director General of Forests (WL) & Director, Wildlife Preservation is the Member-Secretary to the Board.
  • Other members include
    • three Members of Parliament (two from Lok Sabha and one from Rajya Sabha),
    • five NGOs and
    • 10 eminent ecologists, conservationists and environmentalists.


  • The board is advisory in nature and advises the GOI in conservation and development of wildlife and forests.
  • It has the power to review all wildlife-related matters and approve projects in and around national parks and sanctuaries.
  • No alternation of boundaries in national parks and wildlife sanctuaries can be done without the approval of the National Board for Wildlife.

Wildlife Advisory Board

  • Wildlife Advisory Board is a statuary body of the state (UT) government.
  • The Wildlife (Protection) Act, 1972 mandates the State (UT) Government to constitute a Wildlife Advisory Board consisting of the following members:
  • Minister in charge of Forest in the State (UT) is the Chairman (Chief Secretary will be the chairman if the minister’s post is vacant).


  • Advise the State Government in
    • selection and administration of areas to be declared as Sanctuaries, National Parks, Closed Areas;
    • formulation of the policy of protection and conservation of Wildlife and specified plants;
    • measures to be taken for harmonizing the needs of the tribals and other forest dwellers with the protection and conservation of wildlife; and
    • any matter that may be referred to it by the State Government.
Sharing is Caring !!

Newsletter Updates

Subscribe to our newsletter and never miss an important update!

Assured Discounts on our New Products!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Never miss an important update!