PMF IAS Current Affairs
PMF IAS Current Affairs

Provinces of Pakistan: Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Balochistan; Azad Kashmir & Gilgit–Baltistan

Provinces of Pakistan

  • Context: A Hindu temple was demolished by a mob in the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province of Pakistan.
  • Pakistan has four provinces:
  1. Punjab,
  2. Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (which now includes the Federally Administered Tribal Areas or FATA),
  3. Balochistan, &
  4. Sindh.

  • Though both PoK (Azad Kashmir) & Gilgit–Baltistan are ruled directly from Islamabad, neither is officially listed as the territory of Pakistan.
  • They are both considered as “autonomous territories”.
  • For India, on the other hand, as per the resolution passed by Parliament in 1994, PoK & Gilgit–Baltistan are both part of the State of Jammu & Kashmir, which is an integral part of India.
  • Gilgit–Baltistan is situated on the north-western corner of the Kashmir Valley (trans–Himalayan region).
  • This is a picturesque, hilly region to the north of Azad Kashmir & east of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.
Sharing is Caring !!

Newsletter Updates

Subscribe to our newsletter and never miss an important update!

Assured Discounts on our New Products!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Never miss an important update!