PMF IAS Current Affairs
PMF IAS Current Affairs
  • Context (IE): The Ministry of Information & Broadcasting (I&B) has made significant changes to the National Film Awards.

Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of a Director

  • This award was previously associated with former PM Indira Gandhi and will now be known as the “Best Debut Film of a Director”.
  • The connection between Indira Gandhi and this award dates back to the 28th National Film Awards in 1980.

Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film on National Integration

  • This award, previously named after the legendary actor Nargis Dutt, has been rechristened as the “Best Feature Film Promoting National, Social, and Environmental Values”.
  • Nargis Dutt’s name became synonymous with the National Film Awards during the 13th edition in 1965, where she was honoured for the best feature film category.

Other Changes

  • The Dadasaheb Phalke Award, recognising lifetime contributions to cinema, now carries a prize of Rs 15 lakh (increased from Rs 10 lakh).
  • The Swarn Kamal and Rajat Kamal awards have also seen an increase in prize money to Rs 3 lakh and Rs 2 lakh, respectively.
  • The awards for “Best Animation Film” and “Best Special Effects” have been combined into a new category called “Best AVGC (animation, visual effects, gaming, and comics) Film”.
  • Changes have also been made in the non-feature film category, including the introduction of a new award for the “Best Script”.
  • The award for the “Best Feature Film” in each language specified in Schedule VIII of the Constitution has been renamed as the “Best (name of the language) Feature Film”.
  • These modifications aim to streamline and enhance the recognition of excellence in Indian cinema.

Why was there a need to change these awards?

  • Relevance and Sensitivity: Renaming these awards allows the focus to shift from individual personalities to the artistic achievements of filmmakers and their contributions to cinema.
  • Inclusivity and Representation: The new names emphasise the essence of the awards without being tied to specific individuals.
  • Streamlining and Clarity: Simplifying award names makes it easier for audiences, filmmakers, and industry professionals to understand their purpose.
    • The introduction of the “Best AVGC Film” category combines animation, visual effects, gaming, and comics, streamlining recognition for these creative fields.
  • Financial Recognition: Enhancing the monetary value of awards encourages excellence and dedication in filmmaking.
  • Adapting to Industry Changes: New categories and criteria reflect the changing landscape of Indian cinema.
    • The addition of the “Best Script” award in the non-feature film category recognises the importance of storytelling.

National Film Awards

  • The National Film Awards was established in 1954.
  • Administered by the Indian Directorate of Film Festivals since 1973.
  • The primary goal was to encourage the furthering of Indian art and culture through cinema.
  • Along with the International Film Festival of India and the Indian Panorama, the National Film Awards celebrate outstanding contributions to Indian cinema.
  • The National Film Awards are presented in two main categories: Feature Films and Non-Feature Films.
  • These awards recognise merit across various regions and languages of India.

Selection Process

  • Every year, a national panel appointed by the government selects the winning entries.
  • The award ceremony takes place in New Delhi, where the President presents the awards.
  • Following this, the National Film Festival screens the award-winning films for the public.
Sharing is Caring !!

Newsletter Updates

Subscribe to our newsletter and never miss an important update!

Assured Discounts on our New Products!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Never miss an important update!